content-corner

About

Jana Müller was born in 1977 in Halle/Saale. From 1999 until 2006 she studied photography at the Leipzig Academy of Visual Arts, graduating with a diploma in visual art. She lives and works in Berlin.

Jana Müller’s works deal with social catastrophes, threats, collective fears and their representation in the media. Her installations can be read as surveys of mysterious events oscillating between seemingly real incidents and fiction. Documentary and forensic means are deployed to stage traces of never fully graspable, yet strongly suggestive stories. Making reference to filmic and photographic aesthetics, the visual language of these works is reminiscent of crime scene forensics or theatre backdrops. The artist seems to be attracted to the darkest sides of man and society as well as all the manifestations of the unconscious and the uncanny – especially when they lurk behind the façade of normality. However, it is also the broader phenomenon of the transgression of boundaries which reinforces her interest in the fields of criminality and forensics as well as avid curiosity and pleasure in crime.
 
Since 2007 she has received numerous grants, including from the DAAD, the Institut für  Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa), the Berlin Senat and most recently from the Landesstiftung Niedersachsen for the program Braunschweig PROJECTS at the Braunschweig Academy of Visual Arts.
 
Her works have been shown in various contexts, including the group exhibitions Der Tod ist Dein Körper, Frankfurter Kunstverein, 2014 (curated by Lilian Engelmann), Kino und der kinematografische Blick, Kunsthalle Memmingen, 2013 (curated by Axel Lapp), Berlin. Status 1, Künstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin, 2012 (curated by Christoph Tannert) as well as the solo show Psycho Family, Städtische Galerie Nordhorn, 2012 (curated by Veronika Olbrich). An important part of her practice are collaborations with other artists and cultural practitioners. Since 2001 she has continuously worked with the artist Wiebke Elzel on photographic series. Currently she is involved with the project 3668 Ilfpetrow – From Star to Star with Felicitas Hoppe, Alexej Meschtschanow und Jana Müller, a trip through the US in the fall of 2015 which retraced Ilf and Petrow’s journey from “One-storied America” (translated as “Little Golden America”) from 1936 (www.3668ilfpetrow.com). She has also conceived and realized curatorial projects which resulted in accompanying publications. These included The Disasters of Peace, Berlin, 2010 (together with Alexej Meschtschanow) and Cumuli – On Collecting Things and Cumuli - Trading Places, Berlin / Memmingen, 2013 / 2015 (together with Robert Gschwantner, Ralf Hoedt, Regine Müller-Waldeck,Simon Wachsmuth, Moira Zoitl, Vanja Sisek und the curator Susanne Prinz).

 
 

 

Top

content-corner

About

Jana Müller wurde 1977 in Halle an der Saale geboren. Ihr 1999 begonnenes Studium im Fachbereich Künstlerische Fotografie an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig schloss sie 2006 mit einem Diplom ab.
Sie lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Jana Müllers Arbeiten setzen sich mit gesellschaftlichen Katastrophen, Bedrohungen, kollektiven Ängsten sowie deren Darstellung in den Medien auseinander. Ihre raumgreifenden Installationen können als Bestandsaufnahmen von mysteriösen Geschehnissen gelesen werden, die in einem Wechselspiel zwischen scheinbar realen Begebenheiten und Fiktion stehen. Durch dokumentarisch-forensische Verfahren werden Spuren von nie ganz greifbaren, dennoch stark suggestiven Geschichten inszeniert. Vor dem Hintergrund verschiedener filmischer und fotografischer Ästhetiken, erinnert die Formensprache der Installationen an kriminalistische Tatortsicherung oder bühnenhafte Kulissen. Die Künstlerin scheint von menschlichen und sozialen Abgründen sowie von allen Manifestationen des Unbewussten und Unheimlichen angezogen – insbesondere dann, wenn diese hinter der Fassade der Normalität lauern. Es ist aber auch das allgemeine Phänomen der Grenzüberschreitung, das ihr Interesse an den Bereichen Kriminalität und Forensik sowie an der Lust und Schaulust am Verbrechen abrundet.
 
Seit 2007 hat Jana Müller zahlreiche Arbeits- und Projektstipendien erhalten, u.a. vom DAAD, dem Institut für  Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa), der Kulturverwaltung des Berliner Senats sowie zuletzt von der Landesstiftung Niedersachsen im Rahmen des Künstlerförderprogramms Braunschweig PROJECTS an der HBK Braunschweig.
 
Ihre Arbeiten wurden in verschiedenen Kontexten gezeigt, darunter den Gruppenausstellungen Der Tod ist Dein Körper, Frankfurter Kunstverein, 2014 (kuratiert von Lilian Engelmann), Kino und der kinematografische Blick, Kunsthalle Memmingen, 2013 (kuratiert von Axel Lapp), Berlin. Status 1, Künstlerhaus Bethanien Berlin, 2012 (kuratiert von Christoph Tannert) sowie der Einzelausstellung Psycho Family, Städtische Galerie Nordhorn, 2012 (kuratiert von Veronika Olbrich). Einen wichtigen Bestandteil ihrer Praxis bilden Kollaborationen mit anderen Kunst- und Kulturschaffenden. So arbeitet sie seit 2001 kontinuierlich mit der Künstlerin Wiebke Elzel an fotografischen Werkzyklen zusammen. Aktuell ist sie in das Projekt 3668 Ilfpetrow - Von Stern zu Stern mit Felicitas Hoppe, Alexej Meschtschanow und Jana Müller eingebunden, eine im Herbst 2015 quer durch die USA unternommene Nachreise des Reiseberichts „Das eingeschossige Amerika“ von Ilf und Petrow aus dem Jahr 1936 (www.3668ilfpetrow.com). Zudem hat sie mehrere kuratorische Projekte und die begleitenden Publikationen mitkonzipiert und mitentwickelt, beispielsweise The Disasters of Peace, Berlin, 2010 (zusammen mit Alexej Meschtschanow) sowie Cumuli - Zum Sammeln der Dinge und Cumuli - Trading Places, Berlin / Memmingen, 2013 / 2015 (zusammen mit Robert Gschwantner, Ralf Hoedt, Regine Müller-Waldeck,Simon Wachsmuth, Moira Zoitl, Vanja Sisek und der Kuratorin Susanne Prinz).
 

 
 
 

Top